About

Ivonne Hernandez came to Canada to seek asylum in 2009. In 2011, her refugee application was refused in 2011 and she was ordered deported. Rather than return to the very real danger she faced in Mexico, Ivonne joined the estimated half a million people living without papers in Canada. Ivonne is currently fighting to remain in Canada with her toddler.

 On December 2013, Ivonne fled her home with her son to take refuge in a shelter for women victims of conjugal violence. Her partner promptly denounced her to authorities. In a shocking and rushed ruling on January 10, 2014, a judge awarded custody of Ivonne’s son to the Canadian father because of Ivonne’s vulnerable immigration status. Ivonne and her son were allowed to see each other only eight hours a week. On January 22nd, while picking up her son from her ex-partner, she was arrested at Berri-UQAM metro station in a pre-planned public ambush involving border authorities and police.

Following public mobilization and outrage, Ivonne was freed from detention and was able to successfully fight against a deportation order planned for February 2014 and that would have effectively separated her from her toddler for years and years to come. Ivonne has since regained custody of her child, but her immigration status remains precarious and she continues to face removal back to Mexico.

This website will compile information about the support campaign for Ivonne Hernandez, as well as updates, fundraising information, callouts for upcoming events and calls to action. You can also follow the Justice for Ivonne page on Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/Justice-pour-Ivonne/229121600608735

Status for All! No One is Illegal!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

À propos

Ivonne Hernandez en venue au Canada comme demandeure d’asile en 2009. En 2011, sa demande de statut de réfugié a été rejetée et un ordre de déportation a été émis. Plutôt que de retourner faire face au danger réel qu’elle court au Mexique, Ivonne a rejoint le quelque demi-million de personnes qui vivent sans papiers au Canada. Ivonne lutte présentement pour rester au Canada avec son fils, né en 2012.

Le 11 décembre 2013, Ivonne a fui son domicile avec son fils et a trouvé refuge dans un centre d’hébergement pour femmes survivantes de violence conjugale. Son conjoint l’a alors promptement dénoncée auprès des autorités. Dans un jugement scandaleux et précipité rendu le 10 janvier 2014, un juge a accordé la garde du fils d’Ivonne au père canadien de ce dernier, citant le statut d’immigration précaire d’Ivonne. La mère et le fils avait alors seulement le droit de se voir huit heures par semaine.Le 22 janvier, alors qu’elle allait chercher son fils qui était avec son ex-conjoint, elle a été arrêtée à la station de métro Berri-UQAM dans le cadre d’un véritable guet-apens impliquant les autorités frontalières et la police.

Suite à une mobilisation importante et face à la colère du public, Ivonne a été libérée et a lutté avec succès contre un ordre de renvoi prévu pour février 2014 et qui l’aurait séparée de son jeune fils pour des années et des années à venir. Ivonne a depuis récupéré la garde de son fils, mais son statut d’immigration demeure précaire et elle continue d’être menacée de renvoi vers le Mexique.

Ce site internet contient des informations à propos de la campagne de soutien à Ivonne Hernandez, ainsi que des mises-à-jour, de l’information sur notre campagne de levée de fonds, des annonces pour des événements à venir et des appels à l’action. Vous pouvez aussi nous suivre sur Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/pages/Justice-pour-Ivonne/229121600608735

Un Statut pour toutes et tous! Personne n’est illégal!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>