Good news! Ivonne is on track to getting her permanent residence

6-iwd-banner(Versión en español más abajo.)

After months of living with uncertainty and the risk of being deported to Mexico without her son, Ivonne received some excellent news: first her Humanitarian and Compassionnate (H&C) application for permanent residence and then her Quebec Selection Certificate (CSQ) were accepted. She has also received a work permit. She is well on her way to receiving permanent residency.

Continue reading

Thank You!

The Justice for Ivonne Committee would like to thank everyone who joined us for our Mothers Against Borders that took place on Saturday, May 10th. We would also like to thank you for your generous donations. Ivonne is very touched by your support.

 

We exceeded our expectations for the day and raised nearly $800 to help Ivonne pay for her legal fees. Many thanks again for your support and generosity.

 

However, we are still far from our $6000 goal. We would like to encourage folks to share our fundraising campaign in their networks:

 

http://www.justicepourivonne.org/levee-de-fonds-printaniere/?lang=en

 

You can also follow our donation thermometer on our website : www.justicepourivonne.org

 

Thanks again!

Solidarity with non-status mothers!

 

The Justice for Ivonne Committee

Spring Fund-raising Drive

Olimometer 2.52  Amount raised : $4005

In a time of mounting racism, Ivonne Hernandez’s story broke through indifference and cynicism and for a brief time became a symbol in Quebec of the struggle of non-status women against multiple levels of violence and oppression.

Video of Ivonne’s story (in French).

As told in the media, the story starts in December when Ivonne fled to a shelter with her 1-year old son to escape a situation of domestic violence. Her husband promptly retaliated by denouncing her to authorities, as he had long threatened to do. The consequences were immediate and harsh: first, her son was taken from her care because of her vulnerable immigration status and then Ivonne was arrested in a public take-down arranged between her husband and the border police. Detained at the Laval Immigration Detention Centre, she faced deportation to Mexico, with the very real possibility that she would never see her son again.

Continue reading

Mothers against Borders Brunch

afficheivonneA Fund-Raiser

Lorne Centre, 2390 Ryde St. (Charlevoix Metro)
Saturday, 10 May 2014, at 11am

Free Entry & Free Food, but donations to help with Ivonne’s legal costs are encouraged. Suggested: $10 to $20.

Fun activities for kids!

Wheel-chair accessible.

Any special dietary needs or other accessibility questions? Get in touch at justicepourivonne@gmail.com!

On the eve of Mothers’ Day, the Justice for Ivonne Committee is hosting a brunch to celebrate the struggle of Ivonne Hernandez and other courageous mothers who have crossed and defied borders for their children. The event is also a fundraiser to help cover Ivonne’s legal fees in her continuing fight to stay in Canada with her son.

Guests are invited to come with a small toast to celebrate the courage and strength of mothers against borders: a poem, a few simple words, a testimony, or even an art object.

Continue reading

Ivonne Regains Custody!

The Struggle for Status Continues

-> Read more below about what you can do, including contributing to fundraising efforts (it’s urgent!), joining our Justice for Ivonne contingent on March 8th (International Women’s Day), and writing a support letter!

**NEW: Justice for Ivonne facebook page – like it to follow updates**

“Justice for Ivonne” contingent in the 8th March protest (International Women’s Day)

After a day and a half of hearings in family court, Ivonne finally regained full custody of her 1-year old son, at least for the time-being. Ivonne and her son have been separated since January 10th, when a judge in St-Jérôme granted custody to her ex-partner, citing her immigration status. This ruling is temporary until a full trial scheduled for the fall. Ivonne’s ex-partner has visiting rights. This means that Ivonne cannot leave Canada with her child, and highlights the importance of regularizing her status.

Although Ivonne has a Federal Court stay, her status in Canada is still not permanent. This means she cannot access many essential services (such as daycare, healthcare and child supplements) and remains at risk of deportation in the long-run. The struggle continues!

Justice for Ivonne! Status for All!

Continue reading

Stay of Deportation Granted!

Rally outside Federal Court, 4 February 2014

Rally outside Federal Court, 4 February 2014

UPDATE (February 4, 11:30am) Today at Montreal’s Federal Court, Judge Harrington granted a temporary stay of deportation to Ivonne Hernandez. Effectively, that means Ivonne will not be removed from Canada and her community imminently. The judge cited the “irreparable harm” that would be caused if Ivonne was to be deported now and permanently separated from her 13-month son. The struggle is not over, however. Ivonne could face another deportation date in the future (after matters at Federal Court are settled). Moreover, Ivonne is facing a continued struggle at Family Court to regain custody of her child. The Family Court must be made to understand that the immigration status of a loving parent cannot be used against them in any custody matter.

The Friends of Ivonne — a group of friends, allies and supporters working directly with Ivonne Hernandez — will continue to send updates and information to everyone who has been in touch and expressed concern. For now, we still encourage letters to the Minister of Immigration demanding that Ivonne’s status be regularized immediately; we also encourage organizational letters of support for Ivonne (visit this page for a compilation of the close to 50 letters received so far); and we encourage donations to Ivonne’s support fund, to help pay legal costs related to the immigration and family court matters. Information about how you can help is available below.

Solidarity with Ivonne!
Status for All!

(Update/Call to Action) Solidarity with Ivonne

-> Non-status survivor of conjugal violence has lost custody of her son, was arrested and detained in pre-planned ambush by border agents, and is still facing deportation

-> Read more below about what you can do, including writing letters to the Canadian Ministers of Immigration and Public Security, and the Quebec Minister of Immigration and Cultural Communities (MICC), as well as writing organizational support letters and contributing to fundraising efforts.

*** UPDATE (January 29, 2014): Ivonne now has a deportation date for February 7, 2014 and risks the possibility of being permanently separated from her son. ***

Press Conference, 3 February 2014

Press Conference, 3 February 2014

Ivonne Hernandez is a survivor of conjugal violence in both Mexico and Canada who has been living without immigration status in Canada for a year and a half. She was arrested in a pre-planned public ambush involving border authorities at Berri-UQAM metro station last week on January 22, 2014. Ivonne was arrested while she was picking up her one-year old son from her ex-partner and detained.

Ivonne Hernandez was released from immigration detention on January 24 on a $4000 cash bond. She is required to report to immigration authorities regularly. The removal order against her is still in effect. No deportation date has been set, but there is a risk of removal at any time. If she is deported, her son will be separated from her, perhaps for life.

Continue reading

UPDATE: Ivonne will be released

Rally outside the IRB, 24 January 2014

Rally outside the IRB, 24 January 2014

… but still risk of deportation

Ivonne Hernandez will be released from immigration detention later today on a $4000 cash bond. She will be required to report to immigration authorities regularly. The removal order against her is still in effect. No deportation date has been set, but there is a risk of removal at any time.

Friends and supporters of Ivonne, in collaboration with Ivonne herself, will be planning future steps in the coming days and weeks. The original media release for the urgent solidarity picket earlier today is included below, for basic context to Ivonne’s case.

In the mean time, we would like to thank everyone who came to today’s detention review hearing or have otherwise expressed their support. If you haven`t done so, please write the Minister of Immigration to demand that Ivonne be granted permanent residency in Canada. As well, we encourage organizations to issue their own public statements of support.

We encourage you to get in touch with us proactively by e-mail, so that we can stay in touch about future steps in this campaign.

STATUS FOR ALL
SOLIDARITY WITH IVONNE

Call to Action: Solidarity with Ivonne Hernandez

-> Non-status survivor of conjugal violence loses custody of son, arrested in pre-planned public ambush, and faces imminent deportation

Urgent Solidarity Picket Tomorrow
FRIDAY, JANUARY 24 at 12:30pm
Immigration and Refugee Board (IRB)
200 René-Lévesque West (Complexe Guy-Favreau)
métro Place d’Armes or métro Place-des-Arts

Also:
– Write/call/fax the Minister of Immigration (details below)
– Court solidarity; details to be announced (visit @SolidariteMTL on twitter or www.solidarityacrossborders.org for updates)
– Email us at solidaritesansfrontieres@gmail.com to stay in touch

Support rally for Ivonne, outside IRB, 24 January 2014

Support rally for Ivonne, outside IRB, 24 January 2014

Ivonne Angelina Hernandez Segura, a survivor of conjugal violence who has been living without immigration status in Canada for a year and a half, was arrested in a pre-planned public ambush involving police and border authorities at Berri-UQAM metro station at approximately 4pm yesterday (January 22). Ivonne was arrested while she was picking up her one-year old son from her ex-partner.

Ivonne is at risk of imminent deportation. If she is deported, her son will be separated from her, perhaps for life. She is currently being held at Laval Immigration Detention Centre. She will appear at a Detention Review hearing tomorrow before the Immigration and Refugee Board, at Complexe Guy-Favreau.

On 11 December 2013, Ivonne fled to a women’s shelter with her son to escape a situation of conjugal violence. Her ex-partner promptly denounced her to authorities. In a shocking ruling on 10 January 2014, a family court judge awarded custody of the child to the father because of Ivonne’s vulnerable immigration status. Ivonne and her son were allowed to see each other six hours a week.

Continue reading

Bonne nouvelle: Ivonne est en voie d’obtenir sa résidence permanente!

6-iwd-banner(Versión en español más abajo.)

Après des mois d’incertitude et de risque de déportation au Mexique sans son fils, Ivonne a reçu d’excellentes nouvelles: sa demande de résidence permanente pour motifs humanitaires et son Certificat de sélection du Québec (CSQ) ont été acceptés. Elle a aussi reçu un permis de travail. Tout s’enligne donc pour qu’elle obtienne bientôt la résidence permanente!

Continue reading

Merci!

Nous vous remercions d’avoir participé en si grand nombre et d’avoir donné si généreusement à l’occasion du brunch des Mères contre les frontières qui a eu lieu samedi le 10 mai. Ivonne est très touchée par votre soutien.

Samedi, nous avons recueilli environ 800$ pour aider Ivonne à payer ses frais légaux. C’est un montant supérieur à nos attentes pour la journée et nous vous remercions encore pour votre appui et pour votre très grande générosité.

Cependant, nous sommes encore loin de notre objectif global de $6000. C’est pourquoi nous vous demandons de bien vouloir partager notre campagne de levée de fonds dans vos réseaux.

http://www.justicepourivonne.org/levee-de-fonds-printaniere/

Vous pouvez aussi suivre notre thermomètre de dons sur notre site internet : www.justicepourivonne.org

Merci encore!

Solidarité avec les mères sans-papiers!

Le Comité Justice pour Ivonne

Déclaration du NPD pour la Fête des mères

livré par Mme Isabelle Morin, Député pour le NPD, au parlement Canadien le 7 mai 2014 – voir le transcrit ici

Monsieur le Président,

À l’occasion de la fête des mères je veux revenir sur le cas de Mme Ivonne Hernandez Segura, menacée de déportation après le rejet de sa demande d’asile.

Mme Hernandez a subi des violences conjugales sévères dans son pays d’origine, dont la réalité a été reconnue.

En 2012, Mme Hernandez est enceinte. Elle reçoit un ordre de déportation. Elle ne peut accéder aux soins de santé dont elle a besoin à des conditions abordables. Elle accouche néanmoins de son premier enfant sur le sol canadien. La relation avec le père de l’enfant se détériore ; elle est à nouveau victime de violences conjugales et doit s’enfuir.

Continue reading

Levée de fonds printanière

À l’heure où le racisme monte, l’histoire d’Ivonne Hernandez a réussi à surmonter l’indifférence et le cynisme pour devenir momentanément au Québec le symbole de la lutte des femmes sans-statut contre de multiples formes de violence et d’oppression.

Vidéo portant sur l’histoire d’Ivonne.

Pour les médias, l’histoire d’Ivonne a commencé en décembre dernier, quand Ivonne s’est réfugiée dans un centre d’hébergement pour femmes avec son fils d’un an pour échapper à une situation de violence conjugale. Son mari a rapidement décidé de se venger en la dénonçant aux autorités, concrétisant ainsi une menace qu’il lui faisait depuis longtemps. Les conséquences de son geste ont été immédiates et brutales. D’abord, Ivonne a perdu la garde de son fils à cause de son statut d’immigration précaire. Ensuite, elle a été arrêtée dans le cadre d’un véritable guet-apens public, préparé conjointement par les agents frontaliers et son conjoint. Détenue au Centre de prévention de l’immigration de Laval, elle faisait face à la déportation vers le Mexique et risquait ainsi de ne plus jamais revoir son fils.

Continue reading

Brunch de la fête des mères contre les frontières

afficheivonneune levée de fonds

Centre Lorne, 2390, rue Ryde (métro Charlevoix)
 samedi le 10 mai 2014 à 11h.

Entrée et nourriture gratuite, mais les dons sont encouragés afin d’aider Ivonne à payer les frais juridiques encourus par sa lutte. Dons suggérés : 10$ à 20$

Activités pour les enfants

Accessible aux chaises roulantes.

Pour tout besoin au niveau alimentaire ou de l’accessibilité, contactez justicepourivonne@gmail.com.

À la veille de la fête des mères, le Comité Justice pour Ivonne organise un brunch dans le but de célébrer la lutte d’Ivonne Hernandez et d’autres mères courageuses qui ont traversé et défié les frontières pour leurs enfants. L’évènement servira aussi de levée de fonds afin d’aider Ivonne à couvrir les frais légaux dans le cadre de sa bataille pour demeurer au Canada avec son fils.

Les personnes sont invitées à venir avec un toast afin de célébrer le courage et la force des mères face aux frontières : un poème, un simple petit mot, un témoignage ou même un objet d’art.

Continue reading

Ivonne obtient la garde de son fils !

Sa lutte pour un statut permanent continue

–> Continuez de lire pour en savoir plus sur ce que vous pouvez faire, y compris contribuer à nos efforts de levée de fonds (c’est urgent!), marcher avec nous dans le contingent « Justice pour Ivonne » lors de la manifestation du 8 mars (la Journée internationale des femmes), et écrire une lettre d’appui.

** Nouveau : suivez-nous sur notre page Facebook **

Contingent « Justice pour Ivonne » lors de la manif du 8 mars (la Journée internationale des femmes)

Contingent « Justice pour Ivonne » lors de la manif du 8 mars (la Journée internationale des femmes)

Après une journée et demie en Cour, Ivonne a finalement récupéré la garde complète de son fils âgé de 1 an, du moins pour le moment. Ivonne et son fils étaient séparés depuis le 10 janvier dernier, date à laquelle une juge de la cour de St-Jérôme avait accordé la garde de son fils à son ex-conjoint, citant son statut d’immigration précaire. La décision d’aujourd’hui est valide jusqu’à ce qu’un procès complet ait lieu au cours de l’automne. L’ex-conjoint d’Ivonne a un droit d’accès. Cela veut dire qu’Ivonne ne peut pas quitter le Canada avec son enfant. Cette décision souligne l’importance de la régularisation de son statut de manière permanente.

Bien qu’Ivonne ait obtenu un sursis de renvoi temporaire de la Cour fédérale, son statut au Canada n’est pas permanent. Elle ne peut pas accéder à plusieurs services essentiels (tels que les garderies subventionnées, les soins de santé et les allocations familiales) et demeure toujours à risque éventuel de renvoi vers le Mexique. La lutte continue!

Justice pour Ivonne! Un statut pour toutes et tous!

Continue reading

Sursis accordé !

Manif devant la Cour fédérale, le 4 février 2014

Manif devant la Cour fédérale, le 4 février 2014

MISE À JOUR (4 février 11h30) Aujourd’hui à la Cour Fédérale de Montréal, le juge Harrington a accordé un sursis de déportation temporaire à Ivonne Hernandez. Concrètement, cela signifie qu’Ivonne ne sera pas renvoyée du Canada et séparée de sa communauté de manière imminente. Le juge a évoqué le « tort irréparable » qui serait causé si Ivonne était déportée immédiatement et séparée pour toujours de son fils de 13 mois. Toutefois, la lutte n’est pas terminée. Ivonne pourrait faire face à une autre date de déportation dans le futur (après que les démarches à la Cour Fédérale soient terminées). De plus, Ivonne doit continuer sa bataille à la Cour Supérieure du Québec pour récupérer la garde de son enfant. La Cour Supérieure doit comprendre que le statut d’immigration d’un parent aimant et attentionné ne peut être utilisé contre lui en matière de garde des enfants.

Les Ami.e.s d’Ivonne – un groupe d’ami.e.s, d’allié.e.s et de supporters travaillant directement avec Ivonne Hernandez – vont continuer d’envoyer des mises-à-jour et des informations à toutes les personnes qui nous ont contactées et qui se sont préoccupées de la situation. Pour le moment, nous encourageons toujours l’envoi de lettres au Ministre de l’Immigration pour demander que le statut d’Ivonne soit régularisé immédiatement; nous encourageons également les organisations à rédiger des lettres d’appui pour Ivonne (visitez cette page pour la liste des près de 50 lettres reçues à ce jour); et nous encourageons les dons au fond de support pour Ivonne, afin d’aider à défrayer les coûts légaux engendrés par les démarches en cour pour l’immigration et le droit familial. Plus d’informations sur comment vous pouvez aider ci-dessous.

Solidarité avec Ivonne! Un statut pour tou.te.s !

(Mise à jour / Appel à l’action) Solidarité avec Ivonne

-> Une survivante de violence conjugale sans statut perd la garde de son fils, est arrêtée et détenue lors d’un guet-apens planifié par les services frontaliers. Elle fait toujours face à la déportation.

-> Veuillez lire ici-bas ce que vous pouvez faire pour soutenir Ivonne, entre autres écrire des lettres aux ministres canadiens de l’Immigration et de la Sécurité publique ainsi qu’à la ministre québécoise de l’Immigration et des communautés culturelles. Vous pouvez également rédiger des lettres de support au nom de votre organisation et contribuer aux efforts de levées de fonds.

*** MISE À JOUR (29 janvier 2014): Ivonne a maintenant une date de déportation fixée pour le 7 février 2014 et risque d’être séparée de son fils pour toujours. ***

Conférence de presse, 3 fevrier 2014

Conférence de presse, 3 fevrier 2014

Ivonne Hernandez est une survivante de violence conjugale (violence qu’elle a subie à la fois au Mexique et au Canada) qui vit sans statut au Canada depuis un an et demie. Elle a été arrêtée lors d’un guet-apens planifié par les services frontaliers à la station de métro Berri-UQAM le 22 janvier 2014. Ivonne a été arrêtée alors qu’elle allait chercher son fils âgé d’un an qui était avec son ex-conjoint.

Ivonne Hernandez a été libérée du Centre de détention pour immigrants le 24 janvier 2014 suite au paiement d’un dépôt d’argent de 4000$. Elle est obligée de se présenter régulièrement aux autorités migratoires. L’ordre de renvoi à son endroit est toujours en vigueur. Jusqu’à maintenant, aucune date de déportation n’a été déterminée, mais elle court le risque d’être déportée à tout moment. Si elle est déportée, son fils sera séparé de sa mère, peut-être pour toujours.

Continue reading

MISE À JOUR: Ivonne sera libérée

Manif devant le CISR, le 24 janvier 2014

Manif devant le CISR, le 24 janvier 2014

… mais  toujours le risque d’être expulsée

Ivonne Hernandez sera libérée plus tard aujourd’hui en échange d’un dépôt d’argent de 4 000$. Elle devra se rapporter aux autorités de façon régulière. La mesure de renvoi à son égard est toujours en vigueur. La date de déportation n’a pas encore été déterminée, mais elle court le risque d’être expulsée à tout moment.

Les amiEs et sympathisantEs de Ivonne, en collaboration avec Ivonne elle-même, planifieront les prochaines étapes au cours des jours et des semaines à venir. Voir l’invitation originale au rassemblement de soutien d’urgence d’aujourd’hui, joint ci-dessous, pour plus de renseignements au sujet du cas de Ivonne.

Entre temps, nous souhaitons remercier toutes les personnes qui ont assisté à l’audience de révision des motifs de détention ou qui ont autrement manifesté leur soutien. Si ce n’est pas encore fait, nous vous invitons à écrire au ministre de l’Immigration pour exiger que la résidence permanente au Canada soit accordée à Ivonne. Nous encourageons également les organismes à émettre des déclarations d’appui publiques.

Nous vous encourageons à être proactifs en communiquant avec nous par courriel, de sorte que nous puissions vous garder au courant des prochaines étapes de la campagne.

Un statut pour tous et toutes!
Solidarité avec Ivonne

Appel à l’action : Solidarité avec Ivonne Hernandez

- Arrestation publique d’une mère sans-statut: une survivante de la violence conjugale perd la garde de son fils et est arrêtée lors d’une embuscade planifiée par les services frontaliers; elle fait maintenant face à une déportation imminente

Demain: Vigile d’urgence
VENDREDI LE 24 JANVIER À 12h30
Commission d’immigration et de statut du réfugié (CISR)
200 René-Lévesque ouest (Complexe Guy-Favreau)
métro Place d’Armes ou métro Place-des-Arts

Aussi:
– Écrivez/Appelez/Faxez au Ministre de l’Immigration (détails ci-dessous)
– Solidarité en cour, les détails seront annoncés sous peu (consultez www.solidaritesansfrontieres.org)
– Écrivez-nous à solidaritesansfrontieres@gmail.com si vous pouvez aider.

Support rally for Ivonne, outside IRB, 24 January 2014

Manif en appui à Ivonne, devant le CISR, 24 janvier 2014

Ivonne Angelina Hernandez Segura, une survivante de violence conjugale qui est sans statut au Canada depuis un an et demi, a été arrêtée hier (22 janvier) vers 16h lors d’une intervention planifiée impliquant la police et les autorités frontalières. L’embuscade a eu lieu dans un endroit public, soit la station de métro Berri-UQAM. Ivonne a été arrêtée alors qu’elle s’apprêtait à aller chercher son fils de 1 an qui était avec son ex-conjoint.

Ivonne fait maintenant face à la déportation. Si elle est déportée, elle sera séparé de son fils, peut-être pour toujours. Elle est présentement détenue au Centre de prévention de l’Immigration de Laval. Elle subira une audience de révision de détention demain devant la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié. Le 11 décembre 2013, Ivonne a fui son domicile avec son fils et a pris refuge dans un centre d’hébergement pour femmes survivantes de la violence conjugale. Son ex-conjoint l’a alors promptement dénoncée auprès des autorités.

Continue reading